Matthew Robb · Poetry · Poetry By Me

O For a Love that Will Not Let Me Go

O for a love that will not let me go
though I stray away from you,
to the muck and mire I know,
but the evil I don’t want I do.

Believe me Lord,
you know my heart,
you know it’s true,
Be merciful, Oh God,
I don’t want to fall away from you.

Father God,
Be merciful and bring me near,
Hold me in your arms so dear.

Father God, Help me to know I am loved just like a son,
You loved me and choose me before this world begun.

Father God, Help me to know thy loving care,
You clothed me when once I stood naked and bare.

Father God, I have nothing of my own to offer you,
But what you have given to me, this will I do;
Strive to give each breath of my lungs and beat of my heart back to you.
Father God, I can’t do this on my own,
Father God, I can’t do this all alone,
Father God , I need you,
Oh how desperately I need you,
Make me a living sacrifice,
I lay my life down at your throne.

– Matthew Robb (26/1/2016)

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “O For a Love that Will Not Let Me Go

Leave a Reply

