Matthew Robb · Parables · Poetry · Poetry By Me

The Divided Flock: The Sheep and The Goats

Sheep and Goats]

Gather round my disciples, Listen and heed the message of this story;
A parable and prophecy; of when the Son of Man comes in His glory.
All the angels will be with Him,
He will sit upon His glorious throne.
All the nations gathered before Him,
The Final Judgement by the Son of Man alone.

He will separate the people, as the shepherd separates the sheep and goats.
Now listen intently to this message and of its lesson please take notes.

He will place the sheep at his right hand, the goats placed at his left.
The latter are to depart from him, the former to His cleft.

“Come, you who are blessed by my Father,” the King said to those on his right,
“Inherit this kingdom prepared for you, all who are precious in my sight.”
“For I was hungry, and you fed me.
I was thirsty, and you gave me drink.
I was a stranger, and you welcomed me.
From compassion, you would not shrink.
I was naked, and you clothed me.
I was sick, and for me you cared.
I was in prison, and you came to me.
Now with you my inheritance will be shared.”

Then the righteous ones replied;
“When did we see you hungry?
When did we see you thirst?
When did we see you naked,and clothed you?
Or sick? and when was it you we nursed?
When were you a stranger, And we  showed you hospitality?
When were you in prison, When did we visit thee?

“I tell you the truth,”  the King will say,
“As your have done unto the least of my brothers, you’ve done it unto me”
These great acts of love I  will repay,
Come and share of my great kingdom, for now and all eternity.

The the King will turn to those on His left and say,
“Depart from me, you cursed ones, away into the eternal fire,
Prepared for the devil and his demons, held fast in barb and brier.
For I was hungry, and you did not feed me.
I was thirsty, and you gave me no drink.
I was naked, and you did not clothe me.
In slough of despond, and you let me sink.
I was sick and in prison, and I rotted there.
Because of your lack of love for my brethren,
Of my inheritance you will have no share.”

Then they will reply, “Lord..
When did we ever see you hungry or thirsty?
When did we see you naked or a stranger?
When were you sick, and we did not care you?
When were you in prison, we did not come to thee?”

“I tell you the truth,” He will answer them,
“As much as you have not done for the least of my brethren, you have not done for me.
As much as you have not done for the least of my brethren, you have not done for me.
And these will go away into everlasting punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.

– Matthew Robb
Inspired by Matthew 25:31-46 and ‘The Sheep and The Goats by Keith Green

Goats

 


 

Leave a Reply

